Brace yourself. Politics.

One of my taboo subjects that I was going to discuss was indeed politics.  Events of the day have made it even more timely…I guess.  I will be honest with you all, I hadn’t heard of the rumors flying around about Sarah Palin and “Babygate” until today when I signed on and read about her daughter being currently pregnant.  I tend to agree with what Barack Obama said today regarding the families, especially children, of politicians/nominees being off limits.

To a point.

Regardless of how you feel the whole thing should be handled, the girl IS only seventeen and should be left alone.  Mommy, on the other hand, is another story.  I realize that people are people and crap happens.  That said, Sarah Palin has obviously failed to instill some of the principles she seems to proclaim.  Like abstinence.  There are some other bits of the story floating around that I will let you go find out about for yourself.  I’m not sure what is fact, what is quasi-fact and what is fiction.  Unfortunately that is all too often the case in this age of poorly researched news and biased blogging.  (Note:  I’m a registered Democrat so my blogging can also be considered biased.)

I’ve read that the evangelicals are circling their wagons around Palin in the wake of this news.  I can’t say I’m completely surprised on a couple of counts.  First, no matter what has happened in her family, she can be held up to the world as a “show of progress”.  She’s the first woman who has had a shot at such a high slot in the Republican Party and she (out loud at least) is behind some of their favored talking points.  Also, they need to shore up her support over any and all possible slights to her character to try to get the Republicans elected.  Needless to say, Obama and Biden don’t really agree with all their ideas of what is right and wrong in this country.

Let me say, though I’ve mentioned I’m a registered Democrat, I tend to have a very limited interest in most politics.  I find most politicians to be more talk than action when it all comes down to it.  When it comes to all the “I will do this as president” speeches, I take it with at least a few grains of salt.  Presidents do not work in a vacuum.  In this case, if Obama is elected and Congress maintains a Democratic majority, there is a possibility of change.  Though there are those that would disagree that this country is moving in the wrong direction, I feel we have had enough of there being a Republican in the White House.  If you doubt that many American’s agree with me then please tell me how they ended up losing control of Congress.

I will also add that I’m not well read in many ways.  I didn’t complete college (for a very stupid reason, in retrospect) and reading or watching the news is not my favorite activity.  I have tried to pay attention to the candidates as much as possible though I find, to my dismay, I tend to quickly tune out many Republican speeches.  I say that it is to my dismay because I’m sure I’m missing some very good points.  However the points that I consider BAD are too blatant for me to dismiss.  I could rattle off the points in a little detail, but it would take blogging about a subject like this from bad to worse.

Oh what the hell…

I won’t go into detail, but here are a few things I don’t enjoy hearing Republicans (mostly) talk about:

THE WAR

Right to Life/Freedom of Choice

Gay Rights (I’m gay, btw.)

The Seperation (or lack thereof) of Church and State and affiliated topics

The Economy

Foreign Policy

I originally backed Hillary Clinton.  I know she’s a bit of a bitch, but she’s our bitch.  After listening to and studying Obama, I don’t consider his stated plans to be bad.  I can only hope he gets (and takes) the chance to put them into action.  Unlike those odd people who claim that they will vote Republican because Clinton didn’t get nominated, I will be voting for Obama.  Come to think of it, why would you back the party who offers opposing views just because the Democrat you liked better didn’t get picked?  That seems petty and VERY short sighted, in my opinion.

No matter who and what you believe, this country is desperate for change.  You personally may not see it but that makes it no less true.

Picture once again thanks to Lolcats.

(Feel free to comment!  Click on the blog title and scroll down to the end.  Thanks!)

~ by oneandahalfcents on September 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “Brace yourself. Politics.”

  1. I agree with your opinion about those dems that will vote for McCain just because Hilary did not get the nomination. I am not fond of Obama, and I wonder just what he will be able to “change”, but I also know that McCain will only give us 4 (or more) of the same bull the current administration has dealt us.

    I cannot comment on “babygate” because I am perhaps less of a news watcher than you.

  2. Hey Bill, thanks for being my first comment! Who would you have preferred to get the Democratic nod?

Leave a Reply

 
